NEWS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 31, 2018

CONTACT: Jennifer T. Kollar Public Information Officer **PHONE:** 330.941.8810

EMAIL: Jennifer.Kollar@jfs.ohio.gov

Mahoning County Children Services Board Elects Officers, Welcomes Newly Appointed Board Members

[YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO]----- Mahoning County Children Services Board has elected three new officers at its December 2017 meeting. Officers elected include: Dr. Joseph Mosca, Chairman; Dr. Benjamin McGee, Vice Chairman, and Anthony Spano, Secretary. Marilyn Montes and Daniel Wakefield were recently appointed to the Board. Dr. Mosca replaces Brigid Kennedy, immediate past Chairman. Kennedy remains a general member of the board. Officers are elected by a majority of the board membership and serve two-year terms. Mahoning County Children Services Board is comprised of eight members who are appointed by the Mahoning County Commissioners.

"We look forward to working with our newly elected officers in their new roles and welcome our new board members. All of these individuals are a tremendous asset to our community and to this Board. Collectively, they bring a wealth of knowledge and experience which will enable us to continue to advance our mission and our work in child welfare," states Randall B. Muth, J.D, Executive Director, Mahoning County Children Services.



Chairman: Dr. Joseph Mosca has been a Children Services Board Member since 2013. He is currently the Dean of the Bitonte College of Health and Human Services at Youngstown State University. Dr. Mosca earned a Ph.D. in social work from the University of Pittsburgh, a Master's Degree in social work from the University of Illinois, Chicago, and a Bachelor's Degree in social work from the University of Illinois, Chicago. Dr. Mosca has an extensive list of professional consultant/community service activities, funded projects, national and international paper presentations, university service, and professional development activities. He is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards including Social Worker of the Year Award and Outstanding Service Award from the National Association of Social Workers/Ohio Chapter Region 4. Dr. Mosca also received the YSU Professional/Administrative Staff Award for Distinguished Service, YSU Distinguished Professor Award for University Service, YSU Smith-Murphy Award for Teaching Excellence, and the YSU Watson Merit Award for leadership.

Not pictured

Vice Chairman: Dr. Benjamin L. McGee was appointed to the Board in 2016. Now retired and serving as an Independent Education and Social Service Agency Consultant, Dr. McGee has spent his professional career in education and working with youth. Prior to his retirement, Dr. McGee served as Superintendent of Youngstown City School District, Youngstown, Ohio. After retiring from Youngstown City Schools, Dr. McGee served as Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, Counseling and School Psychology at Youngstown State University and was also Special Assistant to the State Associate Superintendent for Urban Initiatives, Ohio Department of Education, Columbus, Ohio. Dr. McGee currently serves on numerous service organization Boards. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards including Educator of the Year and Youngstown State Alumni Award for Diversity. Dr. McGee received his Doctorate in Education from Youngstown State University, a Master's Degree from Youngstown State University and Undergraduate Degree from The Ohio State University.



Secretary: Anthony Spano has served on the Mahoning County Children Services Board since April 2012. A Youngstown State University graduate, Spano is currently a Purchasing Coordinator at Youngstown State University. The majority of Spano's career has included positions and leadership roles involving youth. He is Founder and Executive Director of Hope Foundation of the Mahoning Valley, a non-profit organization serving chronically and terminally-ill children. Spano has also been publicly recognized for his community service work and is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards including: The President Volunteer Service Award for Lifetime Achievement, recognizing, celebrating and inspiring community service leaders and volunteers to lead the charge. The award is presented by the President of the United States.